July 20
Show news feed

YEREVAN. – At 8.00 p.m. on local time the voting for the National Assembly (Parliament) of the Fifth Convocation ended in Armenia. The precincts are being closed and the counting of votes begins.

At midnight, the Central Election Committee of Armenia will announce the first preliminary results of parliamentary elections.

It is expected that the election results from the seven so-called closed sites (prisons), as well as small polling stations in rural areas will be reported by the media before the CEC will announce the results.

The Armenian parliament is formed by mixed proportional (90 seats) and majoritarian (41 seats) systems. For entering a 131-seat National Assembly, parties must poll over 5% of votes, while blocks - over 7%.

Eight political parties and one block have presented their nominations – Republican Party of Armenian, Prosperous Armenia Party, Orinats Yerkir, opposition Armenian National Congress, opposition Heritage Party, ARF Dashnaktsutyun, the Communist Party of Armenia, Democratic Party of Armenia and United Armenians Party.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский