March 25
Show news feed

YEREVAN. – Republican Party of Armenia (RPA) received 44.05 percent due to parliamentary elections held on May 6. It will receive 40 seats out of 90 on proportional system and will also have 29 MPs on majoritarian system. RPA proportional list heads President of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan, followed by former parliament speaker Hovik Abrahamyan and PM Tigran Sargsyan. 

Prosperous Armenia Party (PAP) will have 36 seats, including 28 on proportional and 8 on majoritarianvote. The top of the list includes Gagik Tsarukyan, former FM Vartan Oskanian and Minister of Urban Development Vardan Vardanyan.

Armenian National Congress (ANC) will have 7 seats on proportional system, which are distributed as follows: first President of Armenia Levon Ter-Petrosyan, Stepan Demirchyan, Aram Sargsyan, Aram Manukyan, Levon Zurabyan, Lyudmila Sargsyan, and Nikol Pashinyan.

ARF Dashnaktsutyun and Orinats Yerkir will have 6 seats each. ARFD proportional list head Vahan Hovhannisyan, Armen Rustamyan, Artyush Shahbazyan, Aghvan Vardanyan and Artsvik Minasyan, while Orinats Yerkir will be presented by Arthur Baghdasaryan, Heghine Bisharyan, Armen Yeritsyan, Sergo Karapetyan and Khachik Harutyunyan. The two parties have one MP candidate elected on majoritarian system. Regarding heritage, it will have 5 mandates, being presented by Raffi Hovannisyan, Khachatur Kokobelyan, Zaruhi Postanjyan, Alexander Arzumanyan and Ruben Hakobyan.

The new parliament will also have two independent MPs including Edmon Marukyan and Marina Marabyan.

Armenia’s Central Electoral Commission has issued the preliminary results of Sunday’s parliamentary elections.

The figures are as follows: Republican Party of Armenia – 44.05% (663,066 votes), Prosperous Armenia Party – 30.20% (454,684 votes), Armenian National Congress – 7.10% (106,910 votes), Heritage Party – 5.79% (87,095 votes), ARF Dashnaktsutyun Party – 5.73% (86, 296 votes), Orinats Yerkir Party – 5.49% (82,690 votes), Communist Party of Armenia – 1.06% (15,933 votes), Democratic Party of Armenia – 0.37% (5,633 votes), United Armenians Party – 0.20% (3, 080 votes).

For entering the 131-seat National Assembly (Parliament), the parties must poll over 5% of votes, while blocs - over 7%.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский