April 18
Show news feed

YEREVAN. – Armenia’s Republic Party Political Council Chairman Aram Sargsyan submitted to the Central Electoral Commission (CEC) a petition for withdrawal from his parliamentary mandate—which he had received as a result of the May 6 National Assembly (NA) elections—CEC Press Secretary Hermine Harutyunyan told Armenian   

In her words, the CEC has so far received solely Sargsyan’s petition on Friday.

Sargsyan was third in the opposition bloc Armenian National Congress’ (ANC) proportional list for the NA elections.

Earlier, ANC leader and Armenia’s First President Levon Ter-Petrosyan, National Security Council Secretary and Orinats Yerkir (Rule of Law) Party (RLP) Chairman Arthur Baghdasaryan, Agriculture Minister and RLP member Sergo Karapetyan, Emergency Situations Minister and RLP member Armen Yeritsyan, and Larisa Alaverdyan from the Heritage Party had likewise submitted such petition.

To note, the Republic Party has left the ANC. Its Political Council convened an extended session on Friday, during which the Party members unanimously decided to part ways with the ANC.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский