October 20
Show news feed

The Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) will request Russia to exclude the extension on the drivers with foreign driving licenses of the ban to work in the country's territory in the sphere of transport, Kommersant reports.   

Chairman of the Board, Vice PM of Kyrgyzstan Oleg Pankratov stated about the existence of the ''agreements to regulate this issue [with foreign drivers] by a separate agreement so that this does not contradict the principles of the Eurasian Economic Union and the idea of common labor market.” In his words, the work on drawing up an agreement, which will lay down the common rules for mutual recognition of national driver's licenses, will continue.

Apart from this, the EEC already proposes Russia to make amendments to the relevant laws, excluding the extension of the ban on the citizens of the EAEU member states (Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Belarus).

According to the EEC, such a norm is already effective in Kazakhstan: under the law, which entered into force on July 14, the ban on driving a car with foreign driver's license does not extent on the citizens of the EAEU member states.

A new law prohibiting foreign drivers to work in the country has been in force in Russia since June 1, 2017. At the same time, on Friday, July 14, the State Duma adopted a law that introduces the right of citizens of Kyrgyzstan, as well as other countries where the Russian language is recognized as official, to work as professional drivers having national driving permits.

In this connection,  earlier Speaker of the State Duma of the Russian Federation Vyacheslav Volodin offered to grant an official status to the Russian language in Armenia so that the national driver's licenses can be recognized in the territory of Russia. 

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more: