December 12
Show news feed

YEREVAN. – Ten years have passed since the tragic events in the center of Yerevan where10 people were killed in the developments following the presidential elections.

After the presidential elections on February 19, 2008, supporters of the first president of Armenia Levon Ter-Petrosyan gathered at Liberty Square demanding the review of election results. For 10 days in a row, they held round-the-clock rallies in the Square in downtown Yerevan.

In the morning of March 1, policemen forcefully dispersed the crowd. People began to gather at the monument to Myasnikyan. In the evening, the then-President Robert Kocharian announced a state of emergency and the security forces used firearms against unarmed demonstrators. Ten people, including two police officers were killed. Around 200 people were injured.

On March 1, 2008, Gor Kloyan, David Petrosyan, Tigran Abgaryan, Tigran Khachatryan, Armen Farman, Hovhannes Hovhannisyan, Hamlet Tadevosyan, Grigor Gevorgyan, Samvel Harutyunyan, Zakar Hovhannisyan were killed.

No one has been held responsible for the death of people during ten years. Seven civilians died as a result of gunshot wounds, while three were killed as a result of the use of the special means.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more:
Partner news