March 23
Show news feed

On Friday, September 21, 2018, the Republic of Armenia celebrates the 27th anniversary of its independence.

The Declaration of Independence was adopted on August 23, 1990, at the session of the then Supreme Council (Parliament) of Armenia. Pursuant to this document, the Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic was renamed the Republic of Armenia.

Under the decree of the Supreme Council, a referendum on secession from the USSR and establishment of an independent state was conducted on September 21, 1991. A total of 94.39 percent of the country’s citizens voted for independence.

And two days later, summing up the results of this plebiscite, the Supreme Council declared Armenia an independent and sovereign state.

This text available in   Հայերեն, Русский and Türkçe