Show news feed

YEREVAN.- The head of the Armenia's CEC, Tigran Mukuchyan, summed up the final results of the early parliamentary elections held on December 9.

According to the CEC, the total number of eligible voters in the country was 2,593,140, but the voter turnout on election day was 1,261,105 (48.63%), 4,706 ballots were declared invalid.

And the number of ballots that were cast in favor of the political forces which were running for parliament is as follows:

Republican Party of Armenia: 59,083 votes (4.7%), “Citizen’s Decision” Social Democratic Party: 8,514 (0.68%), Armenian Revolutionary Federation (ARF) Dashnaktsutyun Party: 48,816 (3.88%), My Step Alliance: 884,864 (70.42%), Bright Armenia Party: 80,047 (6.37%), Christian-Democratic Rebirth Party: 6,458 (0.51%), National Progress Party: 4,121 (0.33%), “We” (Menk) Alliance: 25,176 (2%), Orinats Yerkir (Rule of Law) Party: 12,393 (0.99%), Sasna Tsrer Pan-Armenian Party: 22,868 (1.82%), and Prosperous Armenia Party: 103,801 (8.26%).

Armenia’s new parliament will consist of 132 lawmakers. My Step bloc will get 88, including 4 for ethnic minorities – Russians, Yezidis, Assyrians and Kurds.

According to Electoral Code, the number of mandates of other political forces must not be less than 1/3, in this case it is to be 44.

Thus, to 10 and 7 mandates of Prosperous Armenia and Bright Armenia parties additional 16 and 11 are added.

So, the PAP will have 26 and Bright Armenia 18 mandates.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more: