Show news feed

YEREVAN. – The first session of the new National Assembly will start at 10 a.m. on January 14.

According to the regulations, the first session will be held by the eldest deputy – 74-year-old Knyaz Hasanov.

The President of Armenia and Catholicos of All Armenian Karekin II will address the deputies.

The MPs will take the oath, and the speaker will announce the total number of deputies and the entire list of deputies.

Election of the speaker, deputy speakers, creation of standing committees and election of their heads is on the agenda. The deputies will also discuss the approval of the government’s action plan.

As suggested by the government, the agenda also includes discussion of the draft law on changing the structure of the government. The first meeting ends with a closing remarks by the Speaker of the National Assembly and the announcement of the date of the next meeting.

“My Step” alliance will become the largest faction with 88 deputies, the second is Prosperous Armenia with 26 deputies and Bright Armenia has 18 mandates.

According to preliminary reports, former deputy PM Ararat Mirzoyan will be proposed for the speaker.  Alen Simonyan and Lena Nazaryan will become deputy speakers from “My Step” alliance. Vahe Enfiyadjyan from Prosperous Armenia is likely to become the third deputy speaker. Mane Tandilyan is a candidate for deputy speaker from Bright Armenia faction.

Ex-culture minister Lilit Makunts will head “My Step” faction, Gagik Tsarukyan will head Prosperous Armenia faction and leader of Bright Armenia Edmon Marukyan will head his faction.

The new parliament will have eleven standing committees, including a committee on the Eurasian Union affairs and on human rights, instead of previous nine.

According to Article 149 of the Constitution of Armenia, after the beginning of the term of the newly elected National Assembly, the President immediately appoints the candidate represented by the parliamentary majority as a Prime Minister. The government has to be formed within 15 days after the appointment of the Prime Minister.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more: