August 05
Show news feed

The goal of the package of proposed bills is to have a functional structure of the government, allowing the government to significantly raise the level of its effectiveness.

This is what Minister of Justice Artak Zeynalyan said during a discussion on the package of bills on making amendments and supplements to the Laws “On the structure and activities of the government” and “On remuneration of public servants and civil servants” and the package of bills on making amendments to the Laws “On creation of the Security Council and its activities” and “On state protocols”, on making supplements to the Law “On state service”, as well as on making amendments to the Law “On ensuring of activities of officials, their protection and social guarantees” during the session of the Standing Committee on State-Legal Affairs of the National Assembly of Armenia.

The minister said the packages of bills propose to reduce the number of deputy Prime Ministers and added that the government proposes to have 12 ministries instead of 17.

He also stated that several optimized ministries will be joined to other ministries and informed that Armenia will have a ministry of education, culture and sport.

“In addition, it is proposed to create a ministry of high technologies and industry,” the minister emphasized.

Zeynalyan also stated that the following Ministries of Defense, Foreign Affairs, Emergency Situations, Justice, Labor and Social Affairs, Nature Protection, Healthcare, Finance, Economy and Territorial Administration and Development will be maintained.

In addition, according to the minister, the government envisages creating the position of Chief Commissioner for Diaspora Affairs, which will become the Prime Minister’s representative for relations with the Diaspora and will coordinate the government’s activities with the Diaspora on behalf of the Prime Minister.

Zeynalyan added that the government had taken into consideration the international experience, including the Japanese experience when forming the structure of the government.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский