April 03
Show news feed

YEREVAN. – The Central Electoral Commission (CEC) of Armenia has published the list of MPs in favor of the "Yes" campaign for the referendum on constitutional amendments. Vahagn Hovakimyan, MP from the majority My Step faction of the National Assembly, is the authorized representative of the campaign, Armenpress reported.

The list includes 44 deputies of the faction.

The referendum will be held on April 5.

The referendum proposes to terminate the tenure of serving President of the Constitutional Court, Hrayr Tovmasyan, and 6 members of the court.

The referendum campaign kicks off on February 17, and will continue until April 3.

The ruling Civil Contract party has already set up a "Yes" headquarters led by Suren Papikyan, Minister of Territorial Administration and Infrastructure.

The deadline for deputies to set up a "No" campaign headquarters is February 17, but no parliamentary force has yet announced the formation of such headquarters.

Parliamentary opposition Prosperous Armenia party has decided not to participate in the conduct of the referendum on constitutional amendments.

Another opposition force in parliament, Bright Armenia, has also announced that it will not launch a "No" campaign. Edmon Marukyan, the leader of the Bright Armenia party, has urged other forces to also not to form a "No" front.

If a "No" campaign is not registered by MP’s within the prescribed period, it may be formed by a group of at least 50 citizens. The petition(s) for the registration of a "NO" campaign by citizens may be submitted to the CEC starting February 18.

Extra-parliamentary political forces also have not announced about carrying out a "no" campaign.

The former ruling Republican Party of Armenia has stated that it will not participate in the process, while the ARF Dashnaktsutyun Party has called for a boycott of the referendum.

This text available in   Հայերեն