December 07
Show news feed

The final result of the Iranian parliamentary elections in the capital Tehran and its suburbs showed on Sunday that Principlists, the main rivals of the reformists, have won the polls, Tasnim reports.
The list of candidates introduced by the Council of Islamic Revolution Forces Alliance for the Tehran constituency won the elections in the capital.
The former mayor of Tehran, Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf, who ran for the 12th presidential election in 2017, is at the top of the list, gaining 1,265,287 votes.
Mostafa Aqa-Mirsalim, one of the six candidates racing for Iran's presidency in 2017, ranks second on the list, winning 892,318 ballots.
The nationwide votes for the parliament and the midterm elections of the Assembly of Experts were held in Iran on Friday.
According to IRNA, the turnout for the Iranian Majlis (parliament) on February 21 was 42.57%.
Iran's Minister of the Interior, Abdulreza Rahmani-Fazli, told reporters on Sunday about the voter turnout for the 11th round of Majlis elections, and informed that the total participation was 42.57% in this round, IRNA reported.
More than 7,000 people vied for the 290 seats in parliament.
The elections were held at 208 polling stations.
The Iranian parliament has five seats for religious and ethnic minorities, and, accordingly, two seats are allocated for Armenians living in Iran.
The deputies of the Iranian parliament are elected for 4 years.
Iran's new parliament will begin work in late May.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский