August 02
Show news feed

YEREVAN. – The voting in the snap parliamentary elections has started at 8am. Voting turnout information will be published every three hours, and tabulation of voting results will begin at midnight. Chairman of the Central Electoral Commission (CEC) of Armenia, Tigran Mukuchyan, stated this during Sunday morning’s press conference at the CEC.

According to him, the aforementioned information will be published on the CEC website according to the polling stations, too, and they will be accessible immediately after or simultaneously with each live broadcast.

"Currently, 2,593,572 voters are on the voter lists. Five hundred voters took part in the voting by way of online voting on June 11-13. The results of the online voting will be summed up today after the end of the voting.

Taken together, 2,510 [MP] candidates are on the electoral lists of all political forces.

[A total of ] 2,008 polling stations are planned, 12 of which are at penitentiaries and will be opened later, whereas the remaining 1,996 polling stations have opened," Mukuchyan added.

"A total of 745 representatives of 58 local media outlets and about 135 representatives of 49 foreign media outlets have been accredited to cover the elections.

You know that video cameras are installed at the polling stations. Overall, the voting process and the process of summing up the results are broadcast live from 1,500 polling stations," added the CEC chairman.

Mukuchyan stressed that eight international and foreign observer organizations—a total of 483 international observers—, and 8,749 local observers will carry out observation mission during these elections.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more: