February 29
Show news feed

 Armenian News - presents the digest of Armenia’s snap parliamentary elections:

- The party of Armenian acting PM Nikol Pashinyan has won snap elections, the country's electoral commission reported.

Preliminary results from all polling stations give the Civil Contract party almost 54% of votes.

The Armenia alliance led by his rival, ex-President Robert Kocharyan, came second with 21%.

- Robert Kocharyan’s bloc has alleged election fraud in the elections.

“The parliamentary election results being published are highly controversial and do not inspire confidence,” his bloc said in a statement.

The “Armenia” bloc sets a task of an in-depth and substantiated study of the registered and assumed violations, which we undertake immediately.

- According to the results of Sunday’s snap elections, the new parliament will have 107 MPs and three political forces: the ruling Civil Contract Party—led by acting PM Nikol Pashinyan—, the "Armenia" bloc—led by ex-leader Robert Kocharyan—, and the "I Have the Honor" bloc—led by opposition leader Artur Vanetsyan.

The respective parliamentary seats will be distributed as follows:

Civil Contract Party: 71

"Armenia" bloc: 29

"I Have the Honor" bloc: 7

Also, three of the four parliamentary seats that are allocated for the four largest national minorities in Armenia fall under the Civil Contract Party mandate, and one—under the “Armenia” bloc, thus the latter will have 27 seats.

Furthermore, the "Armenia" bloc will get two additional seats so that the opposition seats in the NA will not be less than one-third.

- The CIS and CSTO observers did not find any irregularities during voting in Sunday’s snap parliamentary elections in Armenia, Monday’s press conference said the head of this mission, Ilhom Nematov.

He recalled that their long-term mission has been working in Armenia since May 31, and this mission consisted of experienced CIS diplomats and MPs.

He added that the snap elections were transparent and were held in accordance with Armenia’s Constitution and Electoral Code.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский