Show news feed

It became known Sunday as to how the 33 seats of Gyumri Council of Elders were distributed among the five parties that passed the respective threshold in the local elections on October 17, reported.

Territorial Electoral Commission No. 31 convened a meeting today—and with the agenda of summing up the election results.

As a result of the local elections on October 17, the Gyumri city government will be formed by the Balasanyan Bloc Social Party, Armenia’s ruling Civil Contract Party (CCP), the country’s former ruling Republican Party of Armenia (RPA), the Zartonk (Awakening) National Christian Party, and the Country to Live party.

The calculation of the mandates is done by a special formula which is defined by the Electoral Code. And according to that the Balasanyan bloc—which received the majority of votes—gets 14 seats, the CCP—11 seats, the Zartonk party—4 seats, the RPA—2, and the Country to Live party—2 seats. This means, however, that none of these political forces can elect the new mayor of Gyumri by themselves, and therefore they will have to form a coalition.

The new mayor of Gyumri shall be elected during the first meeting of the newly elected municipal council, and this will be held in early November.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский