Show news feed

The National Assembly on Wednesday passed—in the first reading—the draft law tabled by the government, and which proposes to set only December 31 and January 1 and 6 as non-working days for the New Year and Christmas holidays in Armenia.

A total of 53 MPs voted for this bill, 16 others—against, and 3 lawmakers abstained.

Minister of Economy Vahan Kerobyan, who presented the bill, had assured that with the reduction of non-working days, the GDP will increase and the trade will grow in Armenia.

The opposition "Armenia" Faction has proposed leaving January 2 and January 7 as non-working days, too.

Under the current respective law, December 31 to January 7 are non-working days in Armenia.

This text available in   Հայերեն