Show news feed

The European Union's Foreign Affairs Council on 27 May introduced a new sanctions regime for serious human rights violations in Russia, DW reported from Brussels, citing diplomatic sources.

It was originally supposed to be named after opposition activist Alexei Navalny, who died in a colony, but then Brussels decided not to tie these sanctions to a specific person.

According to the document at the editorial board's disposal, the Baltic States, Poland, the Czech Republic, Romania, Finland, and Sweden initiated the creation of this regime.

A separate sanctions regime against Russia is intended to provide a legal basis for punishing those responsible for the worsening situation at home. "The criteria for inclusion on the [sanctions] list should cover the deteriorating human rights situation, politicized judiciary, and repression of civil society, including actions that undermine democracy and the rule of law," the document said. The foreign ministries of the initiating countries are ready to make proposals when drawing up the lists under this sanctions regime.

For example, it is proposed to impose restrictive measures against representatives of "Russia's repressive state apparatus, including those involved in politically motivated judicial decisions against representatives of civil society and democratic opposition and their subsequent detention, such as responsible persons in the judicial system (prosecutors, courts, penitentiary institutions)". я.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский