All necessary documents for the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) Secretary General candidate from Belarus have been sent to the participating countries of the organization, CSTO Acting Secretary General Valery Semerikov told Russian News Agency TASS.

“The [respective] draft documents have been sent to the CSTO countries back in December 2018,” he added, in particular.

But Semerikov noted that since the timeframe for signing decisions is not regulated in terms of coordination and the organization’s documentation, it is impossible to say when the appointment of the new CSTO Secretary General will be approved.

State Secretary of the Security Council of Belarus, Stanislav Zas, has been proposed as candidate for the post of next CSTO Secretary General. The Belarusian candidature is approved by other CSTO members Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, and Russia. But difficulties in the matter remain with Armenia, which withdrew its representative Yuri Khatchaturov from this post ahead of time on November 2, 2018 but is resolute on appointing its own candidate to this post until 2020, when the country’s term in this office formally comes to an end.

Khatchaturov had stepped down from the aforesaid position due to the charges which Armenia has brought against him, and along the lines of the criminal case into the tragic events that occurred in capital city Yerevan, in March 2008.

The Collective Security Treaty Organization comprises Armenia, Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan.