The European Union has extended the regime of individual sanctions against Russia, the Council of the EU reported

Restrictive measures were extended until March 15, 2020, against 170 persons and 44 legal entities in Russia and Ukraine. Brussels accuses them of undermining the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Ukraine.

The sanctions were first introduced in March 2014 and since then have been regularly extended for six months. Restrictions include freezing assets and a ban on entry into the EU.

The Council of the European Union in June extended economic sanctions against Russia until January 31, 2020. These restrictions are aimed at the financial, energy and defense sectors. The Russian Foreign Ministry called such a decision to be ‘unconstructive’ games.