March 24
Show news feed

YEREVAN. – The makeup of the new government of the Republic of Armenia (RA) is gradually being outlined, Zhoghovurd (People) newspaper reported.

“According to the information of Zhoghovurd daily, at this moment it is known that from the officials on the [electoral] list of the My Step Alliance, RA Health Minister Arsen Torosyan, Education and Science Minister Arayik Harutyunyan, Nature Protection Minister Erik Grigoryan, Transport, Communication and Information Technologies Minister Hakob Arshakyan, and all the provincial governors will submit withdrawal petitions; that is to say, they will not go to parliament, but maintain the ministerial mandate.

“It is also known that Tigran Avinyan will remain Deputy Prime Minister. At the same time, no change will take place in the enforcement structures; both NSS [National Security Service] Director Artur Vanetsyan and RA Police Chief Valeri Osipyan will continue to maintain their posts.

“At the same time, the new government will place the main emphasis on economy and carry out economic revolution—by incorporating new faces that have economic knowledge,” Zhoghovurd wrote.

This text available in Հայերեն