Show news feed

The eighth meeting of Commission on Delimitation and Border Security of the State Border between the Republic of Armenia and the Republic of Azerbaijan and the State Commission on the Delimitation of the State Border between the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Republic of Armenia was held Friday on the border between the Republic of Armenia and the Republic of Azerbaijan, under the chairmanship of Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Armenia Mher Grigoryan and Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Azerbaijan Shahin Mustafayev, reports Armenian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

As a result of the meeting, the aforesaid commission agreed on the following:
At the initial phase of the delimitation process, the parties have preliminarily agreed on separate sections of the border, directly between the Baghanis (Armenia)-Baghanis Ayrum (Azerbaijan), Voskepar (Armenia)-Ashagh Askipara (Azerbaijan), Kirants (Armenia)-Kheyrumli (Azerbaijan) and Berkaber (Armenia) -Kizil Hajili (Azerbaijan) settlements in order to comply with the legally justified inter-republic border existing at the time of the collapse of the Soviet Union.
It was decided that the description of the given sections of the border line will be drawn up taking into account the clarification of the coordinates made as a result of geodetic measurements on the site, which will be worded in the corresponding protocol-description, which must be agreed and signed between the parties by May 15.

It has been agreed that the parties will apply to their governments to take measures for the simultaneous and parallel deployment of their border guard services in the agreed sections of the border. They also agreed that until the full completion of the delimitation process, the parts of the agreed border line noted in the protocol-description will be considered delimited.

In parallel, they agreed to complete the work on the agreement of the draft regulation on the joint activities of the aforesaid commissions by July 1 and to start the process of its internal agreement and approval, in accordance with the procedure and requirements established by the legislation of the two countries.

The parties have agreed that they will be guided by the Alma Ata declaration of 1991 in the delimitation process. The parties also agreed to enshrine this fundamental principle in the draft regulations. If in the future the agreement on the establishment of peace and interstate relations between Armenia and Azerbaijan provides for other regulations, then the relevant provisions of the regulations will be aligned with the principles defined by the agreement.

It was agreed, after the approval of the regulations by the parties, to agree on the sequence and continue the process of delimitation of all remaining parts of the border, including issues related to enclaves and exclaves.

A protocol was signed as a result of the meeting. The parties have agreed to coordinate in working order the date and place of the next meeting.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more: