Show news feed

Stratfor center counted the number of world countries, both recognized and having no recognition from the UN.

Overall, UN recognizes 193 states, and two observers – Vatican and Palestine. However, Stratfor experts point to the fact that there are at least three more self-declared countries that are not recognized by any UN members at all, but still operate independently from the countries that claim them.

The three places most often considered de facto independent countries despite having no recognition from U.N. members are Artsakh (Nagorno-Karabakh), Transnistria and Somaliland.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more: