June 12
Show news feed

YEREVAN. – The Central Electoral Commission (CEC) of Armenia on Tuesday made more than a dozen decisions, which are conditioned by the recent amendments to the Electoral Code, whereby there will no longer be regional electoral lists, and solely a simple proportional representation electoral system—with closed electoral lists—will operate in the country.

In particular, one of the decisions stipulated that the ballots will no longer have regional candidates, and no pen will be used and no marking will be made on these ballots.

Voters will just select one of the existing ballots and put it in the envelope.

It was also decided that the parties and blocs will no longer submit regional electoral lists.

CEC chairman Tigran Mukuchyan presented the schedule of the snap National Assembly elections on June 20.

Accordingly, the respective election precincts will be formed by May 26, the parties and blocs planning to run in these elections shall submit their respective documents to the CEC by May 26 at 6 pm, and their registration shall be done by May 31.

The election campaign will be held from June 7 to June 18 at 12am.

The deadline for parties and blocs for withdrawal is June 10, 6pm.

Online voting will start on June 1 and end on June 13.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more: