Show news feed

YEREVAN. - The upcoming parliamentary elections must be elections of peace, Armenian president and leader of the ruling Republican Party of Armenia (RPA) Serzh Sargsyan announced during the meeting with the citizens of Yerevan city Avan administrative district on Monday.

“I call you to regard May 6 as a very important day of life or death. The upcoming elections must be elections of peace. We must understand that we elect the authorities of our country but the most important is the peace of our nation and state,” the president said.

According to Sargsyan, this elections must be the best in the history of Armenia in order for us to be able to construct a prosperous Armenia for everyone.

“We must conduct the best elections. This will enable our country to become paradise,” he mentioned.

Serzh Sarsyan called to vote for RPA by the proportional system and for Ruben Hayrapetyan by the majority system.

The Republican Party of Armenia (RPA) is a ruling conservative party in Armenia founded on 2 April, 1990, and registered on 14 May, 1991, being the first officially registered socio-political organization in the independent Republic of Armenia.

The founder of the party was Ashot Navasardyan. After his death the party was headed by former Armenian prime minister, very influential political figure, Vazgen Sargsyan, who was killed in 1999 terrorist attack in the parliament. He was replaced by another Armenian Premier Andranik Margaryan. After Margaryan’s death, the incumbent Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan took the office of the chairman of RPA board.

Since 2003, the Republican Party is a core member of the ruling coalition along with the Prosperous Armenia and Orinats Yerkir parties. RPA has majority of seats in the Armenian parliament since 2003.

The Republican Party of Armenia will run in the parliamentary elections under its new slogan: “Let us believe to change!” The Party’s proportional list includes 253 names.

RPA has also nominated MP candidates with the majority election system in 33 electoral districts.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский