Show news feed

YEREVAN. -- From April 17-19, a U.S. Congressional delegation, including Congressman David Price (D-North Carolina), Congressman Vern Buchanan (R-Florida), Congresswoman Dina Titus (D-Nevada), Congressman Michael Conaway (R-Texas), Congressman Gerry Connolly (D-Virginia), Congressman Adrian Smith (R-Nebraska), Congresswoman Barbara Lee (D-California), and Congresswoman Terri Sewell (D-Alabama) will visit Armenia.

The delegation will meet with a variety of interlocutors in the executive branch and members of the National Assembly, as well as with members of media and civil society and NGO representatives.Other events will include a session with students at the American University of Armenia (AUA), and visits to Etchmiadzin and the Tsitsernakaberd Memorial, Armenian parliament's press office said. 

The members of Congress are all members of the House Democracy Partnership (HDP); Congressman Price serves as the HDP Chairman, and Congressman Buchanan is the Co-Chair. 

The purpose of the delegation’s visit is to identify potential opportunities for impactful engagement by HDP with the Armenian National Assembly. The House Democracy Partnership (HDP) is a bipartisan commission of the United States House of Representatives that is dedicated to promoting responsive, effective government and strengthening democratic institutions by assisting legislatures in emerging democracies through peer-to-peer cooperation.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more: