December 02
Show news feed

The factions of the National Assembly of the Republic of Artsakh made a statement regarding the accession of the DPR, LPR, Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions to the Russian Federation.

Considering the recognition of independence of the Donetsk People's Republic and Luhansk People's Republic by the Russian Federation and subsequent annexation of the aforementioned territories, as well as the Kherson and Zaporozhye regions to the Russian Federation on September 30, 2022, the factions of the Assembly of the Republic of Artsakh state that the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic in legal terms in 1991 flawlessly exercised its right to self-determination in accordance with the norms of international law, principles of democracy and the then effective legislation of the USSR. The international community recognized Azerbaijan as an independent state within the borders defined by the internal legislation of the USSR. According to that legislation, at the moment of Azerbaijan's independence, Nagorno-Karabakh had no connection to that country, otherwise it would not have been a part of the UN, so the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan has nothing to do with the NKR.

Accepting the principle of equal rights and self-determination of peoples enshrined in the first article of the UN Charter and the July 22, 2010 International Court of Justice opinion on conformity of Kosovo's unilateral declaration of independence to the international law, the factions of the National Assembly of the Republic of Artsakh call on the OSCE Minsk Group co-chair countries - Russian Federation, United States of America, France, and other 190 UN member states to recognize the independence of the Nagorno Karabakh Republic, thus neutralizing the grave danger for its population.

Free Motherland UCA

United Motherland


Armenian Revolutionary Federation

Democratic Party of Artsakh

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more: