January 16
Show news feed

The Turkish parliament has established its own commission to investigate Islamophobia in four EU member countries, Belga reported.

The deputies will focus on the states with the most frequently expressed manifestations of Islamophobia - Austria, Germany, France and Belgium. They plan to get permission from these countries to conduct investigations on the spot. The commission will start its work on 9 January.

According to the statement, the initiative of the Turkish parliament was a response to the numerous racist statements of Austrian citizens following the information that the first child born in 2018 in Vienna was a Turkish girl.

Austria has already been accused of attacking Muslims. In June 2017, former Austrian Foreign Minister Sebastian Kurz was criticized after his offer to close Muslim kindergartens in the country.


This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский
Read more: