February 21
Show news feed

The Minister of Defense of the Russia, Sergey Shoigu, announced that a joint air defense system was created with the other Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) member states, reports Interfax-AVN.

"Actually, it was created, it was created at the bilateral level. We have an agreement, air defense systems with each of the states. This applies to Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and, of course, Belarus," Shoigu said in an interview with Russian TV journalist Pavel Zarubin—and answering a question about the CSTO air defense system.

"Naturally, it is equipped, it works, we conduct regular exercises, we keep it in combat condition," said the head of the Russian defense ministry.

Shoigu said that "if documentation is required, I believe we will document [it]."

"However, we have a bilateral agreement with every CSTO member country. And with this bilateral agreement, the system has been created," the Russian defense minister emphasized.

CSTO consists of Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan.

This text available in   Հայերեն and Русский