Show news feed

WASHINGTON, D.C. – As Congress returned to Washington, D.C. this month, the Armenian Assembly of America (Assembly) held over 30 meetings with Congressional offices and Members, thanking friends, discussing key issues, and adding more Members to the Congressional Caucus on Armenian Issues.

The Assembly is pleased to welcome Representatives Ken Buck (R-CO), Joe Kennedy III (D-MA), and Grace Meng (D-NY) as the latest Members to join the Armenian Caucus. Last month, Reps. Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), and Anthony Brown (D-MD) also joined the Caucus as a result of the Assembly's efforts to expand the Caucus, thus bringing the total as we start 2018 to 117 Members.

“The Armenian Assembly looks forward to working with these new Members and with the leadership of the Armenian Caucus as we continue to strengthen U.S.-Armenia relations and confront Azerbaijan's ongoing and deadly cease-fire violations,” stated Executive Director Bryan Ardouny. “In 2018, we will also continue to expand our network of State Chairs across the country and are also planning a National Advocacy Conference in Washington, D.C. later this year, ”  he added.

The Armenian Caucus was established in 1995 as an informal, bipartisan group of legislators dedicated to maintaining and strengthening the U.S.-Armenia relationship. The coordinated efforts of this diverse coalition of Congressional friends of Armenia and the Armenian American community help to raise greater awareness of Armenian American issues on Capitol Hill and unique and lasting bonds between the American and Armenian people.

The Congressional Caucus on Armenian Issues is currently Co-Chaired by Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ), Rep. Jackie Speier (D-CA), Rep. David Trott (R-MI), and Rep. David Valadao (R-CA) with Vice Co-Chairs Rep. Adam Schiff (D-CA) and Gus Bilirakis (R-FL).

This text available in   Հայերեն, Русский and Türkçe
Read more: