Show news feed

YEREVAN. – Armenia’s Constitutional Court refused the appeal of 28 MPs on Saturday. The MPs were demanding from the Constitutional Court to declare the Electoral Code’s article prohibiting the publication of lists signed by voters as unconstitutional. According to the law, the lists signed by the voters are not to be published.

The court explained that changes in law before the elections might be misunderstood.

The decision is final.

As Armenian informed earlier, 28 MPs applied to the Constitutional Court questioning the legitimacy of several points of the Electoral code according to which the lists signed by voters are not to be published.

Eight political parties and one block have presented their nominations – Republican Party of Armenian, Prosperous Armenia Party, Orinats Yerkir, opposition Armenian National Congress, opposition Heritage Party, ARF Dashnaktsutyun, the Communist Party of Armenia, Democratic Party of Armenia and United Armenians Party.

For entering the National Assembly, parties must poll over 5% of votes, while blocks - over 7%.

The election campaign will be held till May 5 - the day prior to elections when campaigning is banned. The parliamentary elections will be held from 8 am to 8 pm on May 6, 2012.

This text available in   Հայերեն, Русский and Türkçe